Life experience and raising kids

How many of you have learned from experience?   I have learned almost everything I know from life experience.  I took my time when it came certain aspects in life but not so much in others.  Thinking it would be easy, but not knowing in whole…only part.

When it came to work, I decided that I needed to learn everything, cooking, cleaning, baking, fast food, secretarial and even legal stuff.  I always kept my mind wide open for a new adventure and so now another begins.  This new adventure is called parenthood.  Although, I have been a mother for 15 years, it’s always a new adventure every day of every year.  This new life experience is grand, joyous, depressing, breathtaking, sad and every other emotion in between.  I have never worked a harder job in my life and I would not give it up for anything in the world.

Raising my three girls, 15, 11 and 6 and taking part in raising my nephew for 6 years who is now 21, helps me to stay young and makes me feel old at the same time.  When they have the experiences that I did as a child, it brings back many memories.    I try to tell them, “Oh, I remember when I went through that”.  I feel like I am helping them through the issue by sharing my story.  Sometimes it helps and other times I get the, “mom, it’s not like that anymore” answer or look.  There is one thing I am very grateful for is that my children do not talk to me in a demeaning manner.  It’s probably because I do not speak to them like that.  I try to explain the reason why I am upset, it doesn’t always happen like like that.  But, a valuable lesson learned from a parenting class I took and working in a daycare or preschool is, when you are so upset you feel like you are about to lose it is..take a deep breath, close your eyes and count backwards from 10 slowly.  By the time you get to 10, you can usually control your emotions.  Go on and try it, I bet it works for you at least once!

As we move forward in our everyday life, I learn new ways to control my emotions.  Life experience, life they say, there is no manual to raising children, you try, you live and you learn.  I invite you all to take a peek into my life experience as I share the good, the bad and the ugly, but mostly, the awesome that comes with a great family.

I have many, many stories and pictures to share with all of you. Thank you for taking the time to read, I hope you all enjoy!

Image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hipfoodiemom
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:34:25

    Renee!! Looking forward to reading all of your posts ans learning from you!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Louise
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 23:04:59

    Great start! I’ll try the counting backwards with John since my girls don’t usually exasperate me the way he does…lol! Good luck and can’t wait to read more!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

