Sweetie, we can’t buy that right now…

Everytime we go to the store my baby wants me to buy her something.  Sometimes, I don’t have the extra money.  I remember asking my mom and the response was always, we can’t afford it…UGH!!  I hated that answer.  Why couldn’t we afford it???  Well, my mom being a single mother of three kids, she had no money to spare.  It was hand-me-downs and powdered milk..YUK!  (That stuff was gross, but worked with cereal). I guess that’s why my mom stopped taking us to the store with her.

Now, we go to the store and I hear myself telling my girls the same thing…”we can’t afford it right now, we have bills to pay.”  I know the girls hate hearing that, but it’s just a part of life.  I think almost everyone goes through it at one time or another.

So, one time, I tell them we can’t get that right now, I don’t have the money for it.  Of course, Mia says, “well you can just go to the bank and tell them you need money and they will give it to you.”  HAHAHA!  oh, I wish it worked like that, sweetie!  Can you imagine, I am walking into the bank and and say, “hey, I am out of money, can you give me some?”  They would look at me and laugh me out the door.  Oh well, nice try homeybuns!    She will understand when she gets older.

until next time….hope your money grows on trees…

Leave a Reply

