8-track, cassette and vinyl..those were the days.

In having a conversation with my 16 year old daughter, we started to discuss music. I told her that we had 8-track tapes, vinly and later would have cassette tapes. She knew what records were and cassettes, not 8-tracks though. Of course, I had to show her what they looked like. She giggles and says, “They are so big and bulky”. She should have seen thae way we watched movies! Big projector with reel to reel film and the giant screen. They have no idea how far technology has come in just the past 30 years!!!

My 11 year old sitting in the back seat was listening to our conversation and chimes in with “What’s a cassette?” Both my 16 year old and I start laughing. She realized that my 11 year old an the youngest would never know a cassette or records unless we show them. So, off the the record store we went. We showed them some great records and cassette tapes too…no 8-tracks though. That’s okay, we can always look on-line for those.

We ended up finding a few gems at the record store and took them home, now, all we need is a record player!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. READ and HEAR
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 14:53:25

    Funny thoughts and blogpost 🙂

    We happen to have had a car that only had tape deck and radio
    I go a record player a few years back from my wife

    …Thanx to having an old car my kids know tapes and LPs
    …And it happens that our kids asks us to play “those large, black plates” every now and then

    And…oh, the irony…
    It must be said that the last tape i have left is hanging on a pin in our garage – and its The Kings last official recording the wonderful “Moody Blue”

    My record collection is slowly being larger and larger…and i happen to love both digital music, CDs, streaming

    Our kids is 9, 7 and almost 5 – and I´m glad they know a little bit about music formats…

    Reply

    • writingrenee
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 22:48:45

      Thank you. My record collection is slowly growing. I doubt I will buy any more cassettes or 8-tracks again though. I want my kids to be knowledgeable about all music formats, especially since my husband and I love music so much.

      Reply

  2. In Write Field
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 18:43:53

    Did you tell your older daughter how, on 8 track tapes, the last song on a “side” would fade out, even if it wasn’t finished? Then you had to remove the tape, flip it over and reinsert it… and the song would pretty much start up from where it left off. I never understood that. Even Vinyl LPs provided whole songs on each side. I guess 8 tracks were for music what beta was for home movies…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

