The homeless

I saw a homeless man sitting outside a grocery store last weekend. He asked if I could spare some change and, I gave him my .60 cents. That is all I had left, since payday wasn’t for a few days. I gave him 2 Gatorade because he looked dehydrated. He was very grateful and said, you know what I want? I just want someone to talk to for a few minutes, so we talked for a bit, I learned that his name.is Cody,he is from San Diego, CA, has no family here in town but has family in Minnesota.  He thought he could make it here, in Santa Clarita, but has fallen on hard luck.  He rides his bike that has a crate on two wheels attached to the back everywhere.  He fixes his bike with his spare money because it’s his transportaion.  He was so much happier when I left, than when I walked into the store.  Not because I have him 60 cents, but because I gave him my time, a smile, my voice and an ear to listen rather than shunning him. He has a heart and soul, just like the rest of us.  So, the next time someone asked for spare change, maybe what they really want is you to lend an ear and be a friend, if only for a moment.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The homeless | Writingrenee's Blog

Leave a Reply

